Eaton, Northwest advance to district in one-act play
Eaton, Northwest advance to district in one-act play
Posted on 03/09/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Eaton, Northwest advance to district in one-act play

A photo of theatre masks

Eaton and Northwest high schools have advanced to the second-round of UIL one-act play competition, and Byron Nelson High School has been named the alternate play in its zone.

Competing in 5A, Eaton and Northwest both advanced to their district competition. Eaton performed “The Insanity of Mary Girard,” a play by Lanie Robertson, and Northwest performed “Picnic,” a play by William Inge.

Eaton’s Clark Jones received best actor award for his performance, while Cassie Weaver and Vincent Harrill earned all-star cast honors. Additionally, Emmarie Wilson, Serindipity Depauw and Joe Rhoads earned honorable mention for acting, and Ruby Grewal was named outstanding technician. Northwest’s Mary Strauss won best actress, while Cayden Candioto and Jasmine Dalrymple earned all-star cast honors. Additionally, Emily Hammonds and Cora Cravey were named honorable mention for acting and Eli Witherspoon won outstanding technician.

Eaton and Northwest next compete on Friday, March 9, at Chisholm Trail High School for their district meet.

Competing in 6A, Byron Nelson fell just short of advancing to the district competition, being named alternate in its zone. The Bobcats performed the modern classic play “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead” by Tom Stoppard.

The school had several students earn accolades, however, with Ryan Gallagher earning outstanding technician honors; Whitney Stonecipher and Jack Gates being named to the all-star cast; and Zachary Garcia being earning honorable mention for acting.