Northwest ISD Announces 13 Commended Scholars
Northwest ISD Announces 13 Commended Scholars in National Merit Scholarship Program
Posted on 09/28/2020
National Merit Scholarship Program

National Merit Scholarship Program

Northwest ISD is proud to recognize 13 students as Commended Scholars in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program:

Charles W. From, Northwest High School
William Goldsberry, Eaton High School
Jayden Hamilton, Eaton High School
Madeline K. Lewis, Byron Nelson High School
Emily Maas, Byron Nelson High School
Charles C. Miller, Byron Nelson High School
Suvel Muttreja, Byron Nelson High School
Michael Nielson, Byron Nelson High School
Hayden C. Nordstrom, Northwest High School
Jackson Owen, Byron Nelson High School
Kaitlyn Pinney, Byron Nelson High School
Mike Velisar, Byron Nelson High School
Nathan Windeler, Byron Nelson High School

Approximately 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, these select students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

''Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," according to a press release issued by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. ''These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."